San Jacinto Christian Academy is where the growth of my roots in the Lord was established. I attended from K-12th which is still the majority of my life thus far. As I look back on the time spent in the classrooms, chapel, on field trips, class trips, and many sports activities, I am beyond grateful for the knowledge and example of God’s Word I was given that led me to Christ and taught me how serve him with my whole heart, mind, and body. ally-bowen-2009

Since graduating from SJCA in 2009, I have walked across the stage at Texas A&M University with a B.S. in Psychology, lived in Hungary as a missionary for about a year, married my wonderful husband, Trey, and have moved to Dallas, Texas where he attends medical school and I plan to finish my Masters in Biblical Counseling at Dallas Theological Seminary.

The move from a small private school environment to the huge College Station campus was challenging, yet exciting for me. I learned very quickly how to withstand the “weed-out” freshman classes and how not to spend all my time socializing rather than reading the textbooks (honestly, I struggled with this for the entirety of my college experience). I graduated with great relief and an eagerness to move on to the next stage of life. During my last semester, I received a phone call from missionaries, Larry and Melinda Ewing, and felt the peace of God fill me as we discussed plans of me moving to Eastern Europe to help disciple newly believing young girls. Hungary was such a refreshing and uplifting time in my life as I was able to teach young students the gospel and much of what began in my heart while being a student at San Jacinto. After three months in Hungary, I returned to Amarillo- just for the summer.

My friends highly encouraged me to go on a date with one of our church friends, Trey Bowen. I did not disagree, and after two years of different extremes of long-distance, we walked down the aisle of the church in which we both grew up. I have loved getting to share my life-long SanJac memories with Trey and bring him back to help me lead worship in chapels, to coach middle school volleyball tournaments and to watch my youngest brother play Patriot football.ally-bowen-3

San Jacinto Christian Academy holds a special place in my heart, and I continue to be grateful for the teachers who taught me the knowledge that prepared me for where I am now, the chapels and Bible classes that spurred on my love for Christ, and for the friends and families that poured into my life and brought me great joy.

 

